What, it’s already over?! I could continue stuffing my face with piroshky and my brain with history and Russian, but no, all the beautiful things in life come to an end (or as we say in German, everything has an end, only the sausage has two) and I had to leave my wonderful hosts Irina and Kirill. So here is something to close this chapter with a place that probably most people start out with – Moscow.

No matter how much time you spend here, you will never have the impression you had enough time. There are hundreds of museums, I don’t know how many parks, and stuff going on all the time. So I just picked and made the most of it.

In the end my feet hurt and I really needed a holiday from this, but on the other hand I could have continued… I was so happy when I started reading my first book in Russian (Ruslan and Ludmila by Pushkin), because I finally looked like all those locals who read books in the metro and because I actually knew what Russian instruments and characters the book is referring to.

Some of the highlights in pictures (just because famous sights look better with Yoyoma in front of them):

The instrument of my dreams

I went to the music museum and found the instrument of my dreams: the Nyckelharpa! It sounds like a violin without the risk of getting all the notes completely wrong, since you just press keys, how cool is that… They also have David Oistrakh’s violin (my brother’s favorite violin player) and the first synthesizer, and instruments from all over the world that you can listen to with the audio guide.

 

Tretyakovsky Gallery

Seeing the Tretyakovsky Gallery after having been to the Hermitage left me puzzled as to which one is the original of the following works of art, the one in Moscow or the one in St. Petersburg?! I will try to find out… It’s a wonderful museum that includes works of art of many important Russian artists, I can’t understand how Lonely Planet suggests that you should just quickly browse through the first 16 rooms before it gets interesting. I decided they were wrong and had a closer look, I mean, when will I see works of Bryullov the next time… It’s really cold in the gallery, I should have worn warm clothes (I have a cold now because it literally is a fridge for paintings).

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

The Kremlin and the Red Square

These are must-sees of course, some things that are noteworthy:

-a Kremlin is a fortification that used to be built to protect cities, so Moscow is not the only city with a Kremlin, even if this one is famous because it’s the President’s Residence

-pictures are best taken from the bridge next to the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour, as I realized 2 days before leaving

-St. Basil’s Cathedral is beautiful outside, but I wish I had saved the money for the entrance. I was disappointed by the fact that it resembles more a labyrinth than a church inside. Kings built one church (small building with altar front) around each other. Beautiful from the outside, weird inside.

view of the Kremlin from Patriarshy bridge
view of the Kremlin from Patriarshy bridge
view from Ivan the Great Bell-Tower
view from Ivan the Great Bell-Tower

 

Metro stations

Just like in St. Petersburg (of even more) a lot of metro stations look like museums, here are some of them. (To compare, see my blogpost about St. Petersburg or this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c-NT8Y_Bbms.)

 

Parks and statues

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Random exhibitions, concerts.

 

Now I’m back in Bavaria at my family’s place for a short while, and on a quest to buy a Dirndl for Oktoberfest…

