A few Christmas markets, lots of gingerbread and mulled wine later I realize that the advice my brother gave me about mulled wine is true: more than two and a head ache is guaranteed….

I thought it would be good idea to use the regional day ticket for Bavaria to go visit several cities in a day without having to worry about how many mugs of mulled wine I had.

The price of that ticket depends on the number of people travelling together. It is 37€ for three people (at the time of writing) and it’s valid for regional trains in Bavaria and most city busses.

So off I went with Katrina and another friend, Shadi.

 

Regensburg

On the Christmas market in Regensburg I was quite puzzled by the picture on the mugs: a guy standing on top of a tower, but what is he doing…

p1080129x-resized

I finally asked somebody at a mulled wine stand and they told me that he’s checking if the bridge is finished because of some bet.

With the help of google I found out that the picture is related to the city’s legend. A master builder was given the job of building a cathedral while his apprentice had the task of building a bridge over the danube. They made a bet who would finish the job first. The apprentice won by doing a pact with the devil to help him.

You can read the full story here.

 

Passau

I really liked Passau’s narrow alleys and its cute Christmas market on a square in the old city. Unfortunately there hardly was any time to walk along the river, but I managed to get some shots from the park called Dreiflüsseeck (‘three rivers corner’).

This is the only place in the world where three rivers meet from several directions to continue into a different direction together: the rivers Ilz, Danube and Inn meet and continue as the Danube.

 

We were quite exhausted when we left Passau and decided that we’d skip Deggendorf and go back to Nuremberg directly.

 

Room 600

The next day it was time to visit some more serious places. Many times I had driven past the Memorium where the Nuremberg trials against the main responsibles for the crimes committed during WWII took place, but I had never seen it. We visited it yesterday and were lucky enough to be able to see the room 600 where the actual trials took place. The court room is still in regular use nowadays and can only be visited on days when there is no trial taking place in it.

Not only does the museum give a good understanding of what happened during the Nuremberg trials, but also how the trials served as a basis for international criminal law and other international trials.

 

Next plans 

In the meantime we have already been to some more places and are planning on visiting even more. I’ll write about that very soon…

